

Contact: Jordan Foster, Jordan@arrx.org; (501) 372-5250

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

ARKANSAS PHARMACISTS ASSOCIATION HONORS INDIVIDUALS WITH 2020 AWARDS

LITTLE ROCK, AR – The Arkansas Pharmacists Association (APA) presented seven awards to deserving individuals on Thursday, August 20, during the first ever APA Pharmacy Excellence Awards Show streamed online.

"2020 has been an incredibly difficult year for Arkansas as the COVID-19 pandemic rages on and threatens us all, especially frontline workers like pharmacists," Arkansas Pharmacist Association CEO John Vinson said. "However, with the leadership of people like our 2020 award winners, Arkansas pharmacists will continue to fight for our patients and help our communities stay protected while we collectively make our way through this deadly pandemic."

APA 2020 Award recipients include:

2020 Pharmacist of the Year: Brittany Sanders, Pharm.D. of Little Rock. This award recognizes pharmacists for outstanding contributions to the profession and the advancement of pharmacy.

2020 Distinguished Young Pharmacist of the Year: Victoria Hennessey, Pharm.D. of Springdale. This award recipient must have graduated from pharmacy school less than 10 years ago and be active, involved and interested in the future of the profession.

2020 Bowl of Hygeia Award: Mike Smets, P.D. of Ft. Smith. The award, sponsored by the American Pharmacists Association Foundation and National Alliance of State Pharmacy Associations, was established to honor pharmacists who have contributed to the progress of their community through community service.

2020 Innovative Pharmacy Practice Award: Anne Pace, Pharm.D., of Little Rock. This award was established by the APA in cooperation with the National Alliance of State Pharmacy Associations to recognize a pharmacist who has demonstrated a prominent spirit of innovation and entrepreneurship in the practice of pharmacy.

2020 Friend of Pharmacy Award: Joe Baker of Little Rock. Created in 2019, this award symbolizes leadership, dedication, passion, and contribution to the pharmacy profession from an individual who isn't in a traditional pharmacy role.

2020 Guy Newcomb Award: Attorney General Leslie Rutledge. This award recognizes individuals who, by their legislative influence and leadership, have distinguished themselves as political friends of Arkansas pharmacy.

2020 Lifetime Achievement Award: Charles, M. West, P.D. This award honors a pharmacist who has devoted his or her life and career to improving the field of pharmacy and has made an impact that affects healthcare at a local, state, and national level.

The Arkansas Pharmacists Association, founded in 1882, is the statewide professional association representing approximately 2,200 pharmacists in Arkansas. APA strives to further the professional advancement of pharmacists, advocate the value of pharmacy, and safeguard the health and well-being of every Arkansan. Its mission is to advance a professional and business environment for Arkansas pharmacists to be successful and fulfilled in serving patients.

###